Bobby Hodges wins at Roseville speedway

By: Jeannie Broussal, Special to The Press Tribune
-A +A

Late Model driver Bobby Hodges took full advantage of his opportunity to win the Toyota/TRD 100-lap Late Model race at All American Speedway Saturday night in Roseville. 


The Nevada resident traded the lead back and forth with Matt Scott for most of the race, then on lap 80, Scott lost his brakes and started fading. Hodges took over the lead for the third time and took the checkered flag 1.434 seconds ahead of second place finisher Jason Fensler.


Hodges took the lead on lap one and Scott moved up to second on lap eight. They stayed that way until lap 41, when Scott moved into the No. 1 spot. On lap 60, Hodges got the lead back, and then on lap 66 Scott took over again.


On lap 80, Scott surrendered the lead to Hodges for the last time and started fading back.  Apparently, Scott only had a right front brake and every time he had to use it the car would swerve to the right.  That ended Scott's quest for a win. Moore finished third, Scott fourth, and Pitta fifth.


"It was fun to get back out here and get some laps in with these guys," Hodges said.  "It was fun racing with Matt Scott and Jason Fensler, who are a couple of awesome racers."


Nik Romano got his first Modified win at AAS after Scott Winters was disqualified and sent to the end of the lead lap. On the last lap, Winters got in to Michael Ostrowski coming out of turn four, spinning him.  Winters said it was just a racing thing, and Romano was just happy for a win.


"This is the first time all season that we have really got the car figured out,” Romano said. “We've been chasing every problem you can imagine for the entire year, and we finally just now got the correct differential in the car, and we're getting good forward bite, and we can actually run up front. This is not really how I want to win, but I'll take it."


Bomber driver Matt Camp got his second win of the year while holding off Cody Rickard in the last laps of the race. Camp started from the outside of row one and led from start to finish. 


"The race was good,” Camp said. “I had to work hard, but everybody drove clean.  It was a good Bomber race. I am trying to work my way to the top in points. I am in third place now.”


Chase Grigsby, driving the Scaled Late Model car, got the win by 4.114 seconds ahead of Jarret Kelly.  Grigsby drove a great race leading from start to finish.


"The car just kind of stuck with us tonight," Grigsby said.  "It ran really well.  It was perfect.  It was a good night for us.”


In Mini Cup, Danny Allen took over the lead on lap five and never looked back.  He ran a strong race to take the checkered flag.


"We've had a good year this year.  It was a lot of fun once we got by Napier and Ezeil," Allen said.  "It was pretty easy after that.  The win feels really good."


On July 17, All American Speedway will feature a special Modified race with extra laps and a $750 winner’s purse. Street Stocks, Bombers, Hardtops, SRS, and NCMA racing will also be on tap.



1. No. 88 Bobby Hodges

2. No. 50 Jason Fensler

3. No. 27 John Moore

4. No. 35 Matt Scott

5. No. 11 Juan Pitta

6. No. 85 Justin Philpott

7. No. 61 Shannon Mansch

8. No. 12 Tim Smith

9. No. 44 Ron Chunn

10. No. 72 Michelle Nagai

11. No. 17 Jonathan Mawhinney

12. No. 22 Cameron Millard

13. No. 42 Brian Keck

14. No. 31 Justin Henry

15. No. 20 Bobby Grewohl

16. No. 33 Dana Pruhs

17. No. 65 Roger Davison

18. No. 51 Chris Scribner



1. No. 7 Nik Romano

2. No. 43 Nick Lyons

3. No. 1 Rick Anable

4. No. 2 Ryan Peter

5. No. 21 Josh Brock

6. No. 50 Gary Glenn

7. No. 77 Michael Ostrowski

8. No. 72 Austin Sangster

9. No. 39 Luke Kaper

10. No. 02 Sal Lopez

11. No. 07 Justin Wolff

12. No. 24 Scott Winters

13. No. 15 Jason Philpot

14. No. 3 Nick Bonachea

15. No. 14 Kyle Dickerson

16. No. 29 Dan Jinkerson

17. No. 5 Jason Bamberg

18. No. 9 Scott Heminover

19. No. 11 Rick Anderson

20. No. 96 Mikey Lehman



1. No. 52 Matt Camp

2. No. 24 Cody Rickard

3. No. 37 David Thompson

4. No. 3 Jim McGinnis

5. No. 22 Keith Hopkinson

6. No. 92 Mark Anderson

7. No. 23 Eric Bocksberger

8. No. 77 Erick Ray

9. No. 12 Denise Lambert

10. No. 73 Gary Eisenhour

11. No. 15 Kenny Beaumont

12. No. 50 Mark Unterbach

13. No. 89 Walter Silva



1. No. 14 Chase Grigsby

2. No. 6 Jarret Kelly

3. No. 3 Chili Denison

4. No. 07 Patrick Hill

5. No. 29 David Napier

6. No. 20 William Camara

7. No. 33 Robbie Roy



1. No. 24 Danny Allen

2. No. 03 Bryce Napier

3. No. 5 Zack Case

4. No. 15 Jackson Ezeil

5. No. 50 Cody Johnson

6. No. 48 Jared Cronk