City pays tribute to volunteers

-A +A
Dozens of community members who volunteer their services in the Rocklin Parks and Recreation, Public Services, Police and Fire Departments were honored at a banquet on April 11. Public Services Director Rick Forstall and Deputy Director Justin Nartker paid tribute to volunteers Matthew McClure, Paul Rice and Matthew Wooden. The Parks and Recreation Department honored volunteers Hal Curtis, Vicki Curtis, Gordon Havens, Sylvia Havens, Allison McGrath and John McGrath. Rocklin Police and Fire Chiefs, along with Volunteer Coordinator Michael Nottoli paid tribute to the volunteers. Special recognition was given to Volunteer Branch Directors: Manuel Alcala, Mary Bretting, Lee Browning, Marsha Fries, Becky Kanowsky, Dave Kemp, Dave Lindsay, Stu Lehman, Rick Smeaton, Kathy Smith, Rich Vallone, Ken Whitman, and Deputy Branch Directors Greg Daley, Dennis Grayson, Dave Magoffin, Jana Mayer, Ted Rogers, Michelle Rowberry-Nogaj, Gary Throm, and Jeanie Thurston. Police and Fire Volunteer Branch directors and deputies help train, manage, schedule, and supervise other volunteers. Volunteer Lee Browning entered his 44th year of volunteer service with the Fire Department and volunteer Becky Kanowsky was recognized for donating more than 1,000 hours during 2011 to the police department. They also honored 120 volunteers, who donated 16,944 hours of service last year, an amount that equates to $396,828 of volunteer labor. The amount is based upon one hour of volunteer work valued at $23.42, according to the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics. Police and fire volunteers provide a wide variety of services to assist firefighters and police officers, including patrolling the city, traffic control at accident scenes, monitoring special events, administrative and clerical duties, child identification and safety education, fire and crime prevention, code enforcement and mail delivery. On hand to present the awards were Mayor Brett Storey, Vice Mayor Peter Hill, Council members George Magnuson and Diana Ruslin, Parks as well as Recreation Commission Chairman Paul Ruhkala and Vice Chairman Nancy Hartwell. Parks and Recreation Director Gordon Holt and Recreation Superintendents John House and Leslie Woodman were on hand to recognize their volunteers.