City recognizes football, cheer, softball volunteers

By: Jon Brines, Placer Herald Correspondent
-A +A
Volunteers ready to go the distance to help youth sports in the community are hard to come by. That’s why the city of Rocklin Recreation Commission wants to recognize a few standouts. At a recent commission meeting, Assistant City Manager Mark Riemer presented resolution to 2009 Outstanding Volunteers from the Whitney Junior Wildcat Football and Cheer Program and Rocklin Girls Fast Pitch Softball as selected by each organizations board of directors. They included Matt Campbell and Gil Achanzar from the Jr. Wildcats. Campbell was selected for his outstanding commitment of time and facilities as well as focus on equipping athletes’ safety. Riemer recognized Achanzar’s constant leadership which secured facilities, a financial base and a relationship with coaching staff from the high school level to develop athletes beyond their time with the organization. Outstanding volunteer Ron Ohling was awarded for his webmaster skills which promoted Rocklin girls softball as well as his dedication to managing the equipment needs of the organization. Ken Bliss excelled at the development of the field for Rocklin girls softball and the managing the snack bar, according to the resolution. Also recognized were 2009 Outstanding Volunteers from the Rocklin Junior Thunder Football and Cheer Program as selected by the Rocklin Junior Thunder Football and Cheer Board of Directors. They included Greg Tyler, and Phil and Kenley Perkins. Tyler was recognized for his contribution as an outstanding webmaster for the youth organization. Tyler revamped the Rocklin Junior Thunder Web site, which organized registrations, sponsorships and ticket sales for hundreds of participants, according to the city resolution. Phil and Kenley Perkins were recognized for their outstanding volunteer effort week-in and week-out that included the whole Perkins family. They announced games recorded player participation time, equipment management and game day preparation for hundreds of participants, according to Riemer. The commission began the recognition program in December 2009. Each community organization was allowed to nominate two outstanding volunteers using their own criteria.