Crowd revs up for Rocklin Pinewood Derby

Cub Scout Pack 349 holds annual event
By: Staff report
-A +A
Rocklin Cub Scout Pack 349 held their annual Pinewood Derby in the Cobblestone Elementary School gymnasium on Saturday, Feb. 28. The Pinewood Derby is an annual classic event promoted by Cub Scout packs to help foster creativity and introduce young boys to working with tools and woodworking techniques. Pinewood Derby event involves each boy and his parents creating a car out of a standard block of pine. Scouts are given a standard racecar kit that includes a small block of pinewood, four small nails to serve as axles and four plastic wheels. Race results are tabulated by a computerized electronic time-keeping system to ensure accurate results. More than 70 cars entered the event this year and as usual, there was a wide variety of car designs, themes and paintjobs. Notable creative car designs included a Wii remote, lumber truck, Army Hummer, piano car, football, eagle eye and numerous brightly-colored hotrods. The gym came alive with Disney movie “Cars” music playing in the background to rev the crowd up. The boys, brimming with excitement and anticipation, had their cars inspected and weighed in by a panel of den leaders. Racers and their siblings packed the length of the racetrack to get a good view of the race and the competition. Den leaders Doug Brewer and David McDevitt served as race announcers, provided commentary and interviewed the racers and their adoring fans. Awards were presented by Steve Mizera, Pack 349 Scoutmaster. Trophies were given to the first-place finishers in each class and medals were presented for second and third place. The following are this year’s Pack 349 winners by category: Fastest car of the pack: first place Thomas Gonzalez (Den 2), second place Robby Jones (Den 10) and third place Duncan Lopez (Den 5). The best design winner was Payson Williams for his “Piano Car” and best Cub Scout theme went to Duncan Lopez. Tiger Cubs Robby Jones of Den 10 placed first; Luke Dowden of Den 10 placed second and William Fisher of Den 6 placed third. Wolf Cubs Thomas Gonzalez of Den 2 placed first; Caleb McDonald of Den 9 placed second and Nathanie Daniel of Den 9 placed third. Bear Cubs Sean Jones of Den 8 placed first; William Dowden of Den 8 placed second and Zachary Ross of Den 4 placed third. Webelos Duncan Lopez of Den 5 placed first; Jimmy Hendrix of Den 3 placed second and Timothy Hendrix of Den 3 placed third. Open Class of adults and children winners included Kailyn Ross, first place; Greg Dowden, second place and Christine Ross, third place.