Final votes in: Next City Council members are Janda, Butler, Magnuson

By: Krissi Khokhobashvili, Placer Herald and Press Tribune editor
-A +A

The 2012 election has been certified, and the next three members of the Rocklin City Council are Greg Janda, George Magnuson and Dave Butler.

Janda led the field of eight candidates with 21.79 percent of the vote. He picked up 2,777 of the outstanding ballots that could not be counted on election night, mainly vote-by-mail and provisional ballots, for a total of 11,732 votes, leading the pack by 3,121 votes.  The Placer County Office of Elections certified its count at midnight Wednesday, adding 13,112 votes to the tally.
Butler, trailing Magnuson by just 65 votes on election night, ended up the second-highest vote-getter with 8,611 votes, or 15.99 percent of Rocklin's 53,836 ballots. Incumbent Magnuson took 15.9 percent of the vote, with 8,559 ballots, 52 votes behind Butler.
Dan DeFoe, with 15.40 percent, was knocked out of the race by 268 votes. For more Placer County final election results, click here.
Rocklin City Council election results    
Number of Precincts   37  
Precincts Reporting   37 100.0 %
Vote For   3  
Total Votes   53836  

GREG JANDA   11732 21.79%
DAVE BUTLER   8611 15.99%
GEORGE A. MAGNUSON   8559 15.90%
DAN DEFOE   8291 15.40%
KEN BROADWAY   7240 13.45%
JACK LENTO-EDRICH   1096 2.04%
WIJAYA "VJ" PERERA   1023 1.90%
Write-in Votes   226 0.42%