Lambert, Paulson score fourth wins at speedway

By: RMG Race Media Group
-A +A

Defending track champion Matt Scott took the lead on lap 14, led the rest of the way and recorded his second Late Model victory of the season by a whopping 6.802 seconds Saturday night at All American Speedway in Roseville.

Scott hadn’t won since the season opener April 15 because of rainouts and four victories by red-hot Jason Romero. Scott registered the quickest time in qualifying at 13.787 seconds around the one-third-mile track.

Shannon Mansch led the first 13 laps before Scott drove past. Romero didn’t race Saturday night, and Scott took over the points lead with 152 to Romero’s 128.

Juan Pitta finished second and Dylan Hutchison third.

Mike Mansch, husband of Shannon Mansch, debuted a new Late Model and finished 10th in the 11-car field. Jamie Krizysik earned his first trophy dash win.

Scott Winters drove to his third Modified victory of the season, taking the lead over the 17-car field on the 21st of 40 laps. He also recorded the quick time in qualifying at 14.082 seconds and won the trophy dash.

Michael Ostrowski led 19 laps early and went on to place second, and Dan Jinkerson was third.

Chris Lambert topped a 15-car field in the 35-lap Street Stock feature for his fourth checkered flag this season. Mickey Owens was second, followed by Kevin Owens.

Richard Poppert Jr. qualified No. 1 at 14.94 seconds and won the trophy dash. Byron Gonzales and Jim McCully won the heats.

Chris Paulson also won his fourth main event of the season in the Bomber division, beating runner-up Erick Ray, Matt Camp and the rest of the field in the 35-lap race.

Paulson won the trophy dash and set fast time at 15.91 seconds, three-hundredths of a second quicker than Camp.

Richard Perez led the first 11 laps before he and Paulson rubbed fenders in a battle for the lead.

Joe Rhodes won the heat race.

The NASCAR Whelen All-American Series will resume July 2 with Late Model twin 50-lap main events and the Modified and Bomber divisions.