All-league SFL football

Moreno, Woods, Thomas take SFL football honors

Cunha, Hildebrand share coach of the year award
By: Kurt Johnson, Press-Tribune sports editor
-A +A
The football coaches of the Sierra Foothill League honored the league’s three section playoff teams in the voting for the 2008 all-league team. Roseville senior quarterback Mike Moreno was named the league’s offensive MVP after a season in which he passed for more than 2,000 yards and ran for more than 800 in leading his team to a section semifinal berth. “Mike is the best quarterback we have had here in my 21 years of coaching at Roseville,” coach Larry Cunha said. “He is the complete package and has shown amazing growth from week one through week 12.” Woodcreek lineman Darius Woods was selected the league’s defensive MVP for his prominent role in the Timberwolves’ most successful football season. Woods fought double-team blocking schemes all year to record more than seven tackles and nearly one sack per contest. “We have known how good Darius is all along, but it speaks volumes to have the other coaches see it as well,” Woodcreek coach John Hildebrand said. “He is so quick, and he is a special kid with a big heart.” The SFL lineman of the year is Granite Bay offensive tackle Eddie Thomas, the anchor of the Grizzlies dominating front wall. “Eddie played our most important offensive line position, the quick tackle,” Granite Bay coach Ernie Cooper said. “He is the rare guy who does everything well on the offensive line - pulling, trapping, and drive-blocking.” The coaches also voted Cunha and Hildebrand as the coaches of the year. Granite Bay and Roseville led the way as each placed 14 players on the first and second teams. The Grizzlies dominated the first team with 12 players, while Roseville’s selections were evenly divided with seven on the first team and seven on the second unit. In addition to Moreno’s MVP award, Granite Bay signal caller Teddy Bryant was one of two other quarterbacks given the all-league first team nod. Bryant had a number of big games for the Grizzlies, a team that was very balanced offensively. That balance was a big reason that two Granite Bay runners were also named to the first unit, as seniors Clark Partridge and Brad Crisanty both earned the recognition of the SFL coaches. Woodcreek’s outstanding junior halfback James Nunley was also part of the first-team offensive unit as he led the league in rushing yards. Roseville wide receiver Andrew Pangburn, who made a living catching balls in tight spaces and Granite Bay’s athletic tight end, A.J. Herlitz were two of the pass catchers worthy of first-team recognition. Granite Bay flyback Justin Sutter and Roseville all-purpose back were named to the squad as utility players as both contributed big plays to their offensive teams. Granite Bay senior center Joe Keady, Woodcreek senior tackle Casey Griffiths, Roseville senior guard R.J, Wruble and Roseville senior tackle Alan Morte join Thomas along the offensive line. The defensive front, in addition to Woods, includes seniors Colton Paulhus and Thomas Haney of Granite Bay, Scott Schwieger of Oakmont and Johnny Rapp of Roseville. Like Woods, this group is made up of players who were a constant disruption to opposing offenses. Schwieger, one of just two first-team all-leaguers from Oakmont, went both ways for the Vikings and was a presence on the Oakmont offensive line as well. Linebackers Erik Akre and Ryan Loder of the Grizzlies provided a fantastic inside-outside combination for Ernie Cooper’s crew, while Christian Criste of Roseville and Nathan Chiaratti of Woodcreek were always around the ball as outside linebackers. Granite Bay cornerback Corey Vanderbeek was the league’s preeminent shutdown corner, but Woodcreek’s Brad Bastian was outstanding as well. Oakmont safety Josh Coggeshall provided some stability to an injury-depleted Viking secondary. The full all-league football list is included below. First team offense: Quarterback: Mike Moreno, senior, Roseville; Teddy Bryant, senior, Granite Bay; Mason Magleby, senior, Del Oro Running back: James Nunley, junior, Woodcreek; Clark Partridge, senior, Granite Bay; Brad Crisanty, senior, Granite Bay; Bryce Pratt, junior, Del Oro Wide receiver: Andrew Pangburn, senior, Roseville; Holden Huff, junior, Rocklin; Spencer Butterfield, junior, Del Oro Tight end: A.J. Herlitz, senior, Granite Bay Utility player: Zack Davis, senior, Roseville; Justin Sutter, senior, Roseville Center: Joe Keady, senior, Granite Bay Guard: Matt Leak, senior, Del Oro; R.J. Wruble, senior, Roseville Tackle: Eddie Thomas, senior, Granite Bay; Alan Morte, senior, Roseville; Casey Griffiths, senior, Woodcreek Place kicker: Tommy Murphy, senior, Woodcreek First team defense: Defensive line: Darius Woods, senior, Woodcreek; Colton Paulhus, senior, Granite Bay; Thomas Haney, senior, Granite Bay; Elliot Thompson, senior, Rocklin; Scott Schwieger, senior, Oakmont; Johnny Rapp, senior, Roseville Outside linebacker: Ben Holland, senior, Rocklin; Erik Akre, senior, Granite Bay; Joe Brunet, senior, Del Oro Inside linebacker: Ryan Loder, senior, Granite Bay; Christian Criste, senior, Roseville; Nathan Chiaratti, senior, Woodcreek Defensive back: Corey Vanderbeek, senior, Granite Bay; Steven Hurley, senior, Rocklin; Brad Bastian, senior, Woodcreek; Josh Coggeshall, senior, Oakmont; Nathan Richmond, senior, Del Oro Second team offense: Center: Josh Bevan, senior, Rocklin; Nick Boule, junior, Roseville Guard: Alan Tanner, senior, Granite Bay Tackle: Chad Weaver, senior, Rocklin; Vince Gibbs, junior, Rocklin; Travis Doupnik, junior, Del Oro; Josh Gurney, senior, Woodcreek Tight End: Craig Morris, senior, Oakmont; Mike Griener, senior, Woodcreek; Kyle Bennett, senior, Roseville Wide Receiver: Freddie Cargile, junior, Del Oro Running back: Matt Higgins, senior, Oakmont Second team defense: Defensive line: Austin Flowers, senior, Del Oro; Alex Gains, junior, Oakmont; Mike Luzinski, senior, Roseville; David Waterhouse, senior, Rocklin; Matt Lanch, senior, Roseville Outside Linebacker: Tevin Tyus, senior, Woodcreek; Andrew Tucker, junior, Oakmont; Curtis Morte, senior, Roseville; Domonique Williams, junior, Roseville Inside Linebacker: Daniel Lessard, junior, Rocklin; Derrick Lu Que, sophomore, Del Oro Defensive Backs: Taylor Maughan, senior, Granite Bay; Austin Tafoya, senior, Woodcreek; Justin Astor, senior, Woodcreek; Kevin Brunner, junior, Woodcreek; Kris McFate, senior, Roseville Roseville-area honorable mention: Granite Bay: Austin Nash, Fernando Kislanka Oakmont: Mung Huynh, Randall Purdy Roseville: Aaron Wagoner, Anthony Clark Woodcreek: Sam Klien, Thomas Sandovall