Rocklin business honored at Economic Development Summit

Icing on the Cupcake recognized for contributions to charity, community
-A +A

A Rocklin-based cupcake shop, organizers of three highly successful events and several business owners were recognized for their contributions to local economic prosperity during the 22nd annual Placer County Economic Development Summit last Wednesday.

The Placer County Economic Development Board, the sponsor of the annual breakfast meeting, presented its first-ever Lifetime Achievement Award to Brent Smith, CEO of the Sierra Economic Development Corporation. For more than 40 years, the agency has provided economic development support to local government agencies, offered small-business lending programs and provided training services to the business community.

“An award to this recipient is long overdue,” Auburn Vice Mayor Bridget Powers told the audience before she presented the award to Smith.

Other award winners included organizers of the three events: the annual Mountain Mandarin Festival, Auburn Industry 2012 and a street fair held last year to kick off a downtown rejuvenation campaign in Lincoln. Rounding out the list of award winners were two successful North Lake Tahoe businessmen, Icing on the Cupcake in Rocklin and a couple who owns a successful Lincoln restaurant.

More than 200 people attended this year’s summit breakfast at Sun City Roseville. The theme this year was “Arts, Culture and Economic Prosperity.”

The summit is sponsored by the Economic Development Board and organized by the county Office of Economic Development. Each year, the EDB presents awards to recognize public and private-sector contributions to the county’s economic well-being.

Joining Smith on the list of this year’s award winners were:

· Brendan Madigan of Alpenglow Sports, who received a Private-Sector Award for Entrepreneurship and Economic Vitality

· Kelly and Mike Drust of Beermann’s Restaurant in Lincoln, recipients of the Private-Sector Business of the Year Award

· Rocklin-based Icing on the Cupcake, winner of a Private-Sector Small Business Award that recognized its contributions to the economy and local charities

·  The Mountain Mandarin Festival, a Private-Sector Award for its support of agriculture

· The city of Auburn and Auburn Area Chamber of Commerce, a Public-Sector Award for organizing Auburn Industry 2012

· Jim Datzman, a Public-Sector Award for taking the lead in organizing last year’s Lincoln Boulevard Celebration, the event that kicked off downtown rejuvenation efforts in Lincoln

· Dave Polivy, a Public-Sector Award for his leading role in strengthening community partnerships through such organizations as the North Tahoe Business Association

Since opening its doors in 2007, the Rocklin-based Icing on the Cupcake has already grown to four locations and recently announced new expansion plans.

Owner Christee Owens and partners Chuck Meridith and Shirley Nagasawa based the business on a family tradition of tasty cupcakes. Their approximately 60 employees serve more than 150,000 cupcakes per month.

“They also contribute mightily to our economy and local charities,” explained Rocklin City Councilmember Dave Butler.

Butler nominated the business for its award, emphasizing that others should consider emulating its business model.

“Icing on the Cupcake is a perfect example of the type of new business formation that we in Placer County should encourage,” he explained. “IOTC is a female-owned business, headquartered locally, serving a quality product, providing employment, growing our tax base and enhancing our local community.”

He also noted that its original location serves as an anchor store for downtown Rocklin.

The EDB is an advisory board that assists the county with its business attraction and retention efforts. It promotes the creation of new jobs and tax revenue and supports tourism, agribusiness, film production and workforce development initiatives.

The EDB includes representatives from the Placer County Board of Supervisors; the town of Loomis; and the cities of Auburn, Colfax, Lincoln, Rocklin and Roseville. It also has members who represent agriculture, public and private education, health care, utilities, manufacturing, tourism, communications and nonprofit organizations.