Rocklin Juniors claim District 11 title, advance to Sections

By: Russ Edmondson The Placer Herald
-A +A
Rocklin Little League’s Junior all-stars crushed Nevada City 17-0 on Tuesday night to claim the District 11 baseball championship. Rocklin now advances to the Section 4 tournament which will be held in Folsom beginning Saturday. Rocklin’s first section game is at 8 p.m. Saturday. The District 11 championship was a best-of-three series with Rocklin also winning 10-0 on Monday in Nevada City. Tuesday’s game was played at Twin Oaks Park in Rocklin. Rocklin was the Area 1 champion while Nevada City was the Area 2 winner. Rocklin is 5-0 in all-star competition thus far and it has allowed no runs and a total of three walks. “Considering the scores of the games, I am very impressed with how focused (Rocklin’s players) have stayed,” Rocklin manager Bret Faulkner said. “Three runners have reached third base in the entire tourney and each time we’ve been able to get them out. I’ve been around this group for about five years, through all the all-star ranks, and this is the best I’ve see them play.” Tuesday’s game lasted just five innings due to the 10-run mercy rule. Rocklin’s Austin Dick pitched the whole way, throwing 71 pitches and giving up two hits. “Our defense was just outstanding – we caught everything,” Faulkner said. “He kept the ball low and we kept catching it . . . (Nevada City) played good (Monday) and we beat them 10-0 and (Tuesday) they were not good and we just destroyed them. But I give my kids credit – they stayed focused.” Rocklin scored five runs in the second inning and six in the fourth. JR Robinson had a huge day at the plate, slamming a homer and three doubles while driving in six runs. Robinson was also a star on Monday, allowing two hits during six innings on the mound and also collecting two hits offensively. Jake Faulkner had three hits for Rocklin on Monday. Rocklin won the Area 1 title with a 12-0 victory over Auburn in Rocklin on Friday night. The game was shortened to five innings because of the 10-run rule. Rocklin scored eight runs in the top of the second inning, as several Auburn pitchers couldn’t find the strike zone. Six of the first seven batters in the inning walked and the eighth batter (Tanner McVey) hit a two-run single. Evan Durgarian hit a one-run single in the inning as well. McVey threw the first three innings for Rocklin (two hits, two strikeouts) and Rocklin’s Sam Woods and Robinson both pitched a 1-2-3 inning out of the bullpen. Faulkner went 3-for-3 with two RBI and a walk while McVey went 2-4 with two RBI and Robinson drove in two runs. The rest of the championship roster includes Drew Ardissone, Tallon Armstrong, Christian Bennett, Steven Ford, Dominic Giampaoli, Griffin Harrell, Taylour Reidt and Jack Wittwer. “What I’m really impressed with is how our guys came focused from the first inning through the last inning, even when the game got out of hand,” Bret Faulkner said.