Rocklin Little League begins its season

Opening ceremonies well attended
By: Staff Report
-A +A
More than 50 ball clubs filed into Twin Oaks Park to celebrate the opening of Rocklin Little League, Saturday. The ceremony was made all that more colorful with more than 750 Little Leaguers in full uniform. RLL President Justin Velez got the ball rolling, so to speak, and Scott Brown did the honors of introducing the teams. Mike Mooney and Joe Zorio also helped to move along the event. More than 60 local businesses have pitched in to help sponsor the baseball organization putting their money where the community is. There is no shortage of time, effort and energy in making Little League Baseball a big part of a young player’s experience. Keeping this year’s endeavor going is the 2012 board of directors: Justn Velez – president, Scott Brown – vice president and umpire-in-chief, Nikki Johnson – secretary, Jay Lang – treasurer, Stacy Walsh – registrar, Kathy Dolan – scheduler. Rob Mooney – field equipment coordinator, Steve Moreno – snackbar coordinator, Staci Spears – uniform coordinator, Stacie Williams – spiritwear coordinator, Joe Zorio – events coordinator, Gina DeLucci – sponsors coordinator, Stacy Tracey – fundraising coordinator. Jared Clifford – Junior/Senior player agent, Kelly Laurin – Major player agent, Rick Strider – AA/AAA player agent, Kevin Bibler – Farm/A player agent, Tim McNeill – T-Ball player agent. Alan Palmer and Steve Spears – Junior/Senior field coordinator, Tony Sgambati and Jeff McClaughry – Major field coordinator, Dave Waltermire – AAA field coordinator, Tim Paugh – Minor/Farm field coordinator, Garret Jones T-Ball field coordinator. Rocklin Little League Opening Day Ceremonies 2012 Twin Oaks Park, March 10 JUNIORS Team Manager A’s John Gibson Cardinals Todd Shaller Giants Kevin Bibler Mariners Rick Strider Pirates Keith Caron Red Sox Dave Walsh Yankees Jeff Arnswald MAJORS A’s Jamie Gomes Cardinals Michael Portello Cubs Drew Wyant Dodgers Justin Velez Giants Tony Sgambati Mets Jeff McClaughry Nationals Jay Lang Rangers Adam Zarfos Red Sox Mark Dionne Yankees Mike Mooney AAA Division Bats Kevin Brickhandler Bulls Vince Houser Hot Rods James Christensen Iron Pigs Chris Winter Rivercats Mike Gardetto Stars David Tremblay Volcanoes Mike DeLucchi AA Division A’s Joseph Carroll Cardinals Jarrad Swanson Dodgers Chris Clark Giants Mike Wojciechowski Mets Randy Gustafson Yankees James Berwick A Division Iron Birds Troy Meza Knights Pete Winter Lugnuts Tim Paugh Mudcats Michael Newman Owlz Daniel Owen Redwings Rick Miller Storm Brian Esperson FARM Bulls Beau Ingram Hot Rods Brandon Hardy Muck Dogs Marty Munn Raptors Ken Morton Rivercats Charles Howard Rockhounds Tim McNeill Scrappers Richard Kleussendorf Sea Dogs Jared Clifford T-BALL A’s Dave Baird Cardinals Clarke Caldwell Dodgers Adam Roye Giants Jared Clifford Mets Mike Mailhot Nationals Mike Tablada Rangers Ralph Coleman Red Sox Richard Quiroz Tigers Garrett Jones INTRO T-Ball Bandits Stan Kososki Grasshoppers Tim Paugh Thrashers Katherine Osmon Thunder Garret Jones