Rocklin Little League to host Majors, Juniors All Stars

By: Staff Report
-A +A
As the District 11 Tournament of Champions contest draw to a close, Rocklin Little League prepare for the next level of play selecting their All Starts for 2012. In AAA Minors play, Rocklin Little League rolled through the competition to claim the TOC held at Mid-Placer Little League. The Rocklin representatives topped Auburn 14-6, Grass Valley 11-1 and Bear River 13-1 to emerge with the championship June 22. 9-10 All Stars Rocklin?s 9-10 All Stars will head for Lincoln Little League to compete in the District 11 Area 1 tournament July 2. The club will face the Auburn All Stars at 7:30 p.m. at McBean Park. The Rocklin All Stars roster includes: Michael Alexander, Grayson Barnes, Tanner Gomes, Miles Hughes, Callum Janis, Andrew Ketchum, Riley McClaughry, Casey Miller, Reece Mooney, Mason Mooney, Alex Portello and Kyle Schaack. The club will be managed by Jeff McClaughry and coached by Mike Schaak and Rick Miller. 10-11 All Stars The Rocklin 10-11 All Stars will head for Penn Valley to compete in the 11U tournament. The team will open against Bear River July 2, 5 p.m. in the double-elimination bracket. A win would pit them against Penn Valley at 7:30 p.m. July5; a loss would put them in the 5 o?clock game that same day. The 11U roster includes: Matthew Ford, Jonah Dionne, Alex Zarfos, Matthew Corsetti, Ryan Mooney, Zack Wray, Ryan Clark, Kyle Clark, Cade DeMarr, Cllint Walker, Ryan Sgambati and Josh Abrahamson. The team will be managed by Tony Sgambati and coached by Troy Clark and Mark Dionne. Majors All Stars Rocklin Little League will host the Majors All Stars Tournament for Area 1 with an eye on Williamsport, Pa. with games beginning July 2. Rocklin will play July 3 against the winner of the Bear River Tri-City game to take place July 2. They would play again July 5 at 5 or 7:30 p.m. depending on whether Rocklin wins or loses its first contest. A loss would put them in the earlier contest. The Majors roster includes: Andrew Mooney, Nikolas McClaughry, Davis Gomes, Sam Portello, Trevor Barnes, Aaron Snell, Tanner Ashby, Braiden Waltermire, Matthew Alexander, Brooks McKeighen, Randy Wright and Matt Schneider. The club will be managed by Mike Mooney and coached by Mike Portello and Jamie Gomes. Juniors All Stars The Rocklin Juniors All Stars will also play host to the District 11 Area 1 tournament. Rocklin?s All Stars will open July 2 against the winner of the Bear River vs. Auburn game. Should Rocklin win, they would play the winner of the Tri-City and Lincoln matchup July 5; a loss would mean playing July 6 in double elimination. All games are at 6 p.m. The Juniors roster includes: Jason Cadell, Jared Cadell, Will Floyd, Hayden Gibson, Chase Hatada, Jason Palmer, Blake Laurin, Matt Morgan, Rand Schab, Mike Schoenberger, Sean Sullivan, Brandon Bibler and Wyatt Walsh. The team will be managed by John Gibson and coached by Alan Palmer and Kevin Bibler. Senior All Stars The Senior All Star team will also play host along with Grass Valley. The tournament is scheduled to begin July 10. The seniors roster includes: AJ Sauer, Alex Stemple, Eric Petersen, Nick Huddlestun, Ian Farran, Jack Dennis, Jake Encallado, Jeffry Raymond, Joey Raymond, Kevin Garrison, Kyle Schafer, Nick Mears, Ryan Smith, Ryan Walsh, Sam Curtis and Griffin Harrell. The team will be managed by Steve Moller and coached by Jon Murray and Michael Sauer.