Rocklin Police hosts annual volunteer awards dinner

-A +A
The Rocklin Police Department paid tribute to 109 men and women who serve the department and community as Rocklin Police volunteers. More than 100 people attended the May 6 event at the Rocklin Sunset Center. Thanks to the dedication of its members, the Rocklin Police Volunteer Program has greatly enhanced the quantity and quality of police services. In 2010, Rocklin Police volunteers donated 14,414 hours of service valued at $291,883 (based upon a value of $20.25 per volunteer work hour as quantified by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics). During the past five years, volunteers donated 60,583 hours, which equates to more than $1.2 million of service. The Volunteer Program is managed by Crime Prevention and Volunteer Coordinator Michael Nottoli and 11 non-paid Volunteer Functional Coordinators: Manuel Alcala, Mary Bretting, Marsha Fries, Becky Kanowsky, Dave Kemp, Stu Lehman, Dave Lindsay, Rick Smeaton, Kathy Smith, Rich Vallone, and Frank Yoschak. Each Volunteer Functional Coordinator trains, supervises, and schedules volunteers, runs specific programs and services, and works closely with paid staff to develop and maintain efficient and effective processes. During the award ceremony, several volunteers received Presidential Volunteer Service Medals and Certificates signed by the President of the United States based upon their hours of service in 2010: Gold Presidential Awards (500 or more hours) were given to Manuel Alcala and Dave Kemp. Silver Presidential Awards (250 – 499 hours) were presented to Cathy Cruz, Violet Daraitis, Margaret Gallego, Dennis Grayson, Debra Leonard and Jana Mayer. Bronze Presidential Awards (100 – 249 hours) were awarded to: Juanita Boutte, Marie Collette, Martin Cruz, Marilyn DeCillis, Norm Fish, Pam Milliron, Greg Thorsen, John Wilhelm, Mary Wire and Gaye Womack. The Volunteer Program also received special awards in 2010 from the International Association of Chiefs of Police and from former Governor Arnold Swarzenegger and First Lady Maria Shriver. For more information about the Rocklin Police Volunteer Program, call Michael Nottoli at (916) 625-5416 or send an e-mail to