Rocklin Seniors dominate District 11, advance to Sections

By: Staff Report
-A +A
Rocklin Little League’s Senior all-stars defeated Lincoln 17-3 on Monday night to claim the District 11 baseball championship. Next up is the Section 4 tournament at American River College and Rocklin’s first game will be at 5 p.m. Saturday. “This season we have a great team that I believe will have great success in the tournament,” Rocklin manager Barry Moller said. Trevor McVey homered against Lincoln while teammate CJ Torretta went 4-for-4 at the plate. The game was shortened to five innings due to the 10-run mercy rule. Rocklin’s Taylor Ashby (diving catch at second base) and Teddy Quittmeyer (threw out a runner at third base from left field) were among the defensive leaders. Brian Hosang, Carson Wittwer and McVey combined to throw 60 pitches in the win for Rocklin. “It was a great team effort,” Moller said. The rest of the championship team consists of Corey Besmer, Michael Blattel, Levi Bonnin, Shaun Braly, Dillon Buban, Ty Kennedy, Scott Moller, Steven Moreno, Anthony Salazar and Chris Streeter. There were just three teams in this district tournament as Grass Valley joined Lincoln and Rocklin. Rocklin topped Grass Valley 12-0 on July 2.