Soroptomist awards local citizens

By: Staff report
-A +A
Soroptomist International of Rocklin-Loomis held their annual awards ceremony on Jan. 28 to honor local citizens. Awards were made to the following Rocklin elementary schools and teachers: Barbara Brangers at Antelope Creek, Debbie VanLiew at Parker Whitney, Ellen Brown at Rocklin, Joanne Smith at Rocklin, Marissa Williams at Rocklin, Roxana Caddow at Ruhkula and Jeni Weeks at Twin Oaks. Other awards included Fred and Acsa Hitchens accepted a $2,500 grant to the Loomis Senior LIFE Center; Nicole Kassel of Lincoln and Jennifer Jaramillo of Auburn both received the Making a Difference for Women Award. Angie Hamilton received the Women’s Opportunity Award, along with a $1,000 scholarship to continue her education. Amee Catalano, a Del Oro senior, received the Violet Richardson Award, along with $500 in scholarships and $500 to the non-profit organization of her choice, Global Citizens Network. Scholarships and grants awarded for the evening totaled $6375.00. Soroptimist is an international volunteer service organization for business and professional women who work to improve the lives of women and girls, in local communities and throughout the world. Contact Soroptimists of Rocklin-Loomis at