Whitney, Rocklin qualify for sections in cross country

‘Cats boys take silver
By: Amanda Calzada/Placer Herald Correspondent
-A +A

ANGELS CAMP_The Whitney High cross country team qualified three squads to advance to the CIF Sac-Joaquin Section championships at Willow Hill in Folsom this Saturday.

The Wildcats varsity boys took second in the subsection Division II 5k run at Frogtown with Jacob Zufelt and Nathan Wellington setting the pace. Both were clocked at 16:13. Runners Ryan Hodgens (16:25), Taylor Bradshaw (17:10) and Isaiah Hanna (17:55) rounded out the top five.

Alec Bigelow (18:21) and Kent Kruetzberg (18:25) also ran with the team.

The varsity girls claimed third behind Bella Vista and Vacaville.

Leading the ‘Cats, senior Megan Hall finished fifth at 19:47 and junior Jenica Dodge finished eighth at 20:00.

Four of the remaining runners were all freshmen. Coming in third, fourth and fifth for Whitney were Jordan Sienkiewicz (20:19), Ozora Cheek (20:52) and Nicole Wellington (21:18).

Also running with the pack were Hattie Groat (22:22) and senior Madison Collins (28:03).

The Wildcats’ sophomore boys ran under the wire for the sixth and final qualifying spot for sections.

The lone sophomore was Antonio Franco who led the team crossing the line in 12:24. The remaining runners were all freshmen Taylor Nguyen (12:25), Christian Condos (12:38), Brett Snow (12:41) and Nick Rubalcava (13:03). Robert Lapeer and Trent Martin also ran with the ‘Cats.


Rocklin’s cross country varsity teams also qualified to move on to sections. Both the boys and girls finished in the fifth spot in Division II.

George Miao led the Thunder boys at Frogtown; the junior finished eighth in 16:19 while Ty Medd came in 27th at 16:58.

Galen Frtiz (17:05), Connor Hensley (17:09) and Zachary Skalet (17:13) were 32nd, 36th, and 40th, respectively.

Seniors Donovan Feliz and Ethan Flake rounded out the team.

Lindsey Romeri led the girls in a time of 20:34; Megan Kuo was seven seconds behind. Also crossing for the team were Sydney Strecker (20:46), Sabrina Wilson (20:54) and Sierra Costing (20:56).

Erin Greenwood and McKayla Burrows also ran with the varsity.

The Thunder JV boys also qualified as a team, as did the frosh/soph girls. Autumn Burton and Amanda Ehrhardt came through as individual qualifiers for girls JV.