Whitney ROTC takes home drill meet awards

-A +A
The Air Force Junior ROTC Cadet Drill Team members have learned the valuable lesson that hard work pays off. The Whitney High name was announced seven times at the annual NORCAL Drill Meet, hosted by AFROTC Detachment 88 from Sacramento State. The cadet drill team members earned first place overall sweepstakes win for the second consecutive NORCAL drill competition. The Color Guard has now won four consecutive first place awards in four different drill competitions since last year. They also won the second place Inspection Award. The Color Guard members are: Commander Brent Clark, Brian Werve (State Flag), Zachary Campuzano (Right Guard), Taylor Stanis (Left Guard), Paul Griffith (alternate) and Andrew McIntyre (alternate). The Armed team won second place for Inspection, first place in Standard Drill and first place in Exhibition Drill. The Armed team members are: Joseph Atwood, Brandon Hernandez, Exhibition Commander Sam Christopher Burlin, Daniel McCrory, Ja’von Caldwell, Cody Moffitt, Terry Deal, Darrell Nygard, Thomas Felker, Aaron Oborn, Alexander Flanders, Lemuel Paval, Standard Drill and Inspection Comm. Brent Gibson, Anthony Pulido (also won 5th in Drill down), Russell Gulliford, Summer Watson, Sidney Hafey. The Unarmed team won first place in Inspection. The Unarmed team members are: Kyle Adams, Dylan Hopkins, Luke Anaya, Bethaney Lovitt, Timothy Cronkhite, Exhibition Commander Jacob Oldes, Christian Douglass, Dustin Reeder, Elexcie Eady, Standard Drill and Inspection Comm. Travis Rhines, Jacob Gibson, Joseph Ruby, Andrew Heater, Anthony Taxara and Angelia Heyn. ~Staff report