Whitney runs ahead of the CAL pack

Hodgens places first
By: Amanda Calzada/Placer Herald
-A +A
Racing to the finish line, the Whitney High Wildcats cross country team secured the top spots of all four races during the first Capital Athletic League meet held at Rio Americano High School in Sacramento on Wednesday. The Wildcats’ Isiah Hanna won the junior varsity boys race (2 miles) at 11:50, while teammates Eric Leverenz and Spencer Bilyeu finished second and third at 11:58 and 12:39, respectively. Leading the varsity boys was senior Ryan Hodgens who claimed the top spot at 15:40, while teammates Jacob Zufelt and Nathan Wellington finished second and third at 15:45 and 15:56, respectively. For the junior varsity girls, Faith Gottenberg finished first among the Wildcats and seventh overall at 15:16. Teammates Haley Ellis and Hattie Groat finished right behind at eighth and ninth (15:24) and (15:27), respectively. Jenica Dodge led the Wildcats in the varsity girls race, as she finished third overall at 19:06. Wildcats Megan Hall and freshman Nicole Wellington finished at fourth and eighth (19:31) and (21:34), respectively. The Wildcats will next be racing at the Clementine Ranch Run in Lincoln Friday. ROCKLIN Rocklin Thunder cross country ran its first Sierra Foothill League meet at Willow Hills Reservoir in Folsom last week. Junior George Miao finished fifth with a time of 16:58, while teammates Zachary Skalet (17:53), Connor Hensely (17:58), and Ty Medd (17:59) came in 13th, 14th, and 15th respectively. The top seven runners from the varsity squads ran at the 32nd annual Woodbridge Invitational in Irvine this past weekend. Miao was second in the senior blue division at 15:11. Other Rocklin runners were Galen Ftiz (15th, 15:58), Hensely (18th, 16:00, Skalet (36th, 16:15), Ethan Flake and Javier Lopez (tie 47th, 16:27) and Medd (68th, 16:52). GIRLS For varsity, sophomore Erin Greenwood led the Thunder at 19:38 for 73rd place. Teammates Lindsey Romeri (19:38), McKayla Burrows (19:43), Sydney Streckler (19:59), Lauren Fessenden (20:10), Sabrina Wilson (20:23), and Heidi Greenwood (21:10) all placed.